Nostalgic At 16?

1 Sep

Are there any childhood show’s that are tasteless to one’s now “mature” mind that you just end up watching even though you were supposed to grow out of them? I’m talking about shows like Pokémon, Angry Beavers, and other child hood favorites that were forced into the minds of children who were born in the 90’s. Yes, I admit. I do still have my impressive collection of Pokémon cards.

Though I’m quite embarrassed of what I watch on a normal basis I know for a fact that I’m not the only one. Netflix just added two seasons of Angry Beavers on its “Ready To Play” list. This must mean I’m not the only one who is completely devoted to the past.

This makes me wonder though; I’m only 16 years old. How can I already be nostalgic?

9 Responses to “Nostalgic At 16?”

  1. alisonvictoria September 1, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    It’s totally possible. I think it’s normal for anyone over the age of, like, 14 to be nostalgic for the past, even if it’s because life was a lot easier back when you were younger. I definitely still miss shows like Clarissa Explains it All and Doug and All That and all the Nickelodeon shows that were on when I was a kid. And if I had a channel that showed them, you bet I’d watch them today. Haha. I do remember Angry Beavers, but I had forgotten about it until I read this post. 🙂

  2. Jung September 2, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    I was feeling nostalgic about stuff since middle school, even. I think it happens fairly often for people who move from the place that they grew up from (which was the case with me), or something like that.

  3. Samantha September 2, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    I remember being very nostalgic at that age mostly over Saturday Morning Cartoons. They just reminded me of a time when things were different. I still do it now for times, places, and people that have only been out of my life for a few years.
    Although I will admit my boyfriend and I came across Xena on Netflixs and nearly watched the first two seasons reliving how awesome we thought the show was when it came out.

  4. Juliana September 3, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    Are you only 16? Such a good writer already :). Nostalgia is possible at any age … they say nostalgia is missing something that was never there to begin with, and I think even a small child can experience this.

    xo

    • Virginia Heydon, youwillseeher September 28, 2010 at 12:39 am #

      Seriously? Don’t tell me that, it means I already miss a hell of a lot of stuff that I never had. Woe is me.

  5. iowamrs70 September 4, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    I agree with Juliana. You are beyond your years in writing. As for Nostalgia, I am much older than you, but Popeye and the Three Stooges were popular when I was a kid. Today I can barely watch them because of the meanness in them. I have to ask myself, “how is punching and slapping funny” I don’t even like Funniest Home Videos. How is tripping and setting ones self on fire funny. Well now you have my 2cents worth.

  6. Virginia Heydon, youwillseeher September 28, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    wow ha! and I thought I was starting young at 24. Ah the days of Ren & Stimpy, pogs, jelly shoes and warheads. neat-o.

  7. jammed-thoughts November 20, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    Angry Beavers on Netflix?!
    I must investigate this…

    • careohhlyn November 20, 2010 at 7:10 am #

      you must! it’s perfect for procrastinating if you ever are in the need!

Leave a Reply

